Catching Up

So, there is literally so much more that I have wanted to do with this blog that I have not had the time/taken the time to do.  But as this my first year of college is nearing its end, I find it extremely necessary to take a study break and share with you just a little reflection on where I am right now and how I got here.  Be on the look out for some more posts filling you in on my year in the near future as well.

Let me start by saying that I am so extremely blessed beyond measure to be here right now.  I can honestly say if not for the work of the mighty God I serve I would not be here. The  Ohio State University Department of Dance was a dream that I did not think would become a reality, and yet here I am.  For that, all the credit must go to Him.

This year has exposed me to a multitude of things that I have never had the opportunity to even imagine experiencing before.  I have learned about myself and found new interests.  The classes I have taken have been incredibly influential in opening my mind to a world previously unknown.  If I were to be transparent, I came into the Department knowing very little about this world in which I want to make a career and name for myself.  From day one, my Freshman Seminar class started to push me to understand myself and why I dance.  The Artist Statement that is featured on this blog is a product of an in class assignment.  I have grown from a girl who just “loves to dance” to a woman who dances because it is the form of expression in which I feel that I am most free, open, and myself.  But let me not get side tracked, visit the page to read more about it.

I am part of (in my opinion) one of the most incredibly talented classes that has come through OSUdance.  They don’t call us the “Amazing Freshman” for no reason!  Over the course of this year, we have sweated together, learned together, and grown together.  For me, one of the most intimidating parts of coming into this program was being surrounded by all of these phenomenal dancers.  I am in awe every time that I am working with my classmates.  They are part of the reason why I have developed as I have — they push me to become a better dancer.  There is nothing like the feeling of coming into technique class everyday and being surrounded by the 30 of your closest friends; people who actually know you, who understand your passion and drive, and don’t have to ask you,, “So what do you do as a ‘Dance major’?”.  To my classmates: thank you for being who you are.  We are the Amazing Freshman now, but we will continue to take the Department and the dance world by storm in the years to come! I love you guys.

I would also be remiss not to mention the two people in the Department that have had the hugest impart on me:

Sofie, I love you much.  As I told you last week, you now have 33 children.  You have become “Mommy Sofie,” and like any mother, you have not only been there for us during the good times, but also pushed us outside of our comfort zones at times as well.  For me personally, I learned so much from you in your class last semester.  I’m not sure how much of it you were able to see, but I know that I would not be where I am without your great instruction.  For that, I thank you!

Abby, literally, I was heartbroken not to be in your choreography for Drums Downtown this year, especially because you are leaving us for U of I next year.  I don’t think you understand how much of an impact you made on my life.  In your class, watching you dance, I learned more than just technique.  My body grew physically (I now am aware of muscles I didn’t even know I had) and my mind was strengthened as well.  The raw physicality that you exuded so effortlessly and demanded from your students was at times almost overwhelming, and I wanted to quit many times because of how frustrated I became with myself.  But yesterday, you told me, “Don’t stop.  I would have given up a long time ago if I had listened to what everyone told me.” That is what I took from you.  It doesn’t matter what any one says now because I know within me that I will make it.  Thank you for sharing that with me.  I love you with all my heart, Abby, and OSUdance will miss you next year.  Don’t be surprised when you see me pop up sometime lol 🙂

To all of my other instructors, your classes have all been an extremely formative experience for me as well.  I am thankful for everything that you all have given me.  Trust that I will not forget.

With that, I must return to my studies.  I don’t have enough words to express this year… but let’s just say that it has been really incredibly, amazingly, perfectly (and imperfectly) GOOD.

 

Leave a Reply

